Free Hong Kong is Back – 2014 New Year Resolution

It has been a while since I last posted here. The main reason for my taking a break is that I found myself too irritated by the things that are happening in Hong Kong, particularly the recent developments, e.g. universal suffrage debate, the racist immigration policy, new immigrants from China in a way have priorities when it comes to social welfare, etc.

After staying away from blogging for a little while, I have regained my strength to write again. During this break, I have done a lot of thinking, and decided to take a different approach. Let’s view this as my New Year resolution:

Instead of using this platform to vent my frustrations, I will start on commenting on political issues and Hong Kong affairs from a local Hong Konger’s point of view.

As a grass root individual, I see the impact of HKSAR government’s policies and the problems of Hong Kong from a different prospective to that of the politicians and middle and upper class individuals.

Even though “Hong Konger” isn’t a term being recognised by many (let alone understood) – at least we can’t find the term in an English dictionary – with the unique history of Hong Kong and the complex relations Hong Kong has with Britain and the PRC, Hong Kong and Hong Kongers deserve to be seen and heard more.

As mentioned in one of my previous posts, one should not rely on reports about Hong Kong in the news. Perhaps, without being exposed to the grass root life, the pre-1997 lifestyle, and without having the self-enlightenment gained from living and  breathing the subtle, but surely accelerating, changes, it is difficult for many (including Hong Kongers) to pin point the problems or feel the pain to witness our freedoms being eroded and China’s control and influence in Hong Kong – a supposedly autonomy city-state.

The style of my articles will probably be very different from now on, less snappy and angry, but more measured and I shall try to be more analytical.

I hope you will continue to enjoy my blog. Please leave me comments and let me know if you would like to hear my view (often citing the local grass root and younger generation’s views) on any particularly topics.

9 thoughts on “Free Hong Kong is Back – 2014 New Year Resolution

  1. Hi dear blogger

    as I see, you are from Hong Kong, and aware about China threats, so I find its appropriate to ask you on some questions I have:

    I am a commit to boycott Chinese goods for the above reason I mentioned

    but I am confusing in some other matters, I am thinking to study in Hong Kong, but not sure if going to Hong Kong consider as going to China??? therefore not boycotting China

    because I hear Hong Kong have other Visa that is different from China

    also is it my money will benefit China, if I pay university in Hong Kong???

    I am indeed, intresting in joining Hong Kong independence movement if I will be student there, but not sure what is the impact.

    Thanks..I hope you could help me 🙂

    • Hi! Thanks for your message.
      HK universities are funded locally, and yes the tuition fee will be going directly to them – as far as I know.
      Please do bear in mind that there are LOTS of Chinese in HK universities these days, and they have even tailored Mandarin courses for them… Be prepared to experience the cultural shock if you’re coming to HK though. For example, I do not hear Cantonese any more in train stations, and no matter what time of the day it is, Mandarin is flying all over the place.
      Good luck and keep me posted on your decision.

      • Thanks very much for your answers

        yeah, I know there is a lots of Chinese in the HK universities..I am prepared for this 🙂

        thats good, Hong Kong fund it self, so the money we pay for them, won’t go to China..nice 🙂

        do the universities in Hong Kong dismiss there students or create problem with student if they know they will participate with some activity or groups or protest against government???

        Thanks you very much..wishing to see one day a free Hong Kong without China

      • I would avoid universities like Open Univ of HK and the Chinese Univ of HK since they are more pro-CCP leaning versus the likes of HKUST, HKU, or HK Poly U. Distinguish the difference between Mandarin (CCP) and Cantonese (HK).

        Yes Universities might dismiss students, or will create problems with student
        if the university admin know the students participate with some activity or groups or protest against government.

        That’s on top of student social groups that only include students from the mainland and others from elsewhere as well as small minority of HK based studebnts.

        Unfortunately, unless there is a revolution HK like Tibet will never be free from China, peroid.

    • Very interesting comment!
      The reason for changing the “style” is that after some thoughts, I do honestly think that making the content of this blog more easy to digest, will only help the course rather than being seen as a “lunatic”. 🙂
      My believes have not changed, yet to help the course, in a long run, I need to make sure that people can understand where the people of HK are coming from and why we are so angry.
      I have not had the time to manage this blog as well as I wish, but I am open to constructive criticism. Currently thinking of a couple of topics that I could write some proper articles about. Just need to find the time – writing analyses take way longer then just venting frustrations. 🙂

  2. Hi
    I wish HK to stand tall and independence.
    I believe rant and rave is more fun to read. Keep up with the good work.
    All the best
    Lang

Leave a Reply

