The Truth about China’s Brain-Washing Propaganda

Wang Dan, one of the student leaders at the Tiananmen Square in 1989 which ended with blood shed and the PRC government continues denying to-date, is now teaching in Taiwan and enjoying freedom that his fellow Chinese people can only dream about.

I do admire the courage of the student leaders demonstrated twenty some years ago, but to my disappointment none of them have done anything to “build a better China” so far…

Wang posted on his Facebook (which is banned in PRC) recently a letter he received from a university student, below is my translation:

Dear Mr. Wang,

I am a Mainland student from JieJiang, currently studying my bachelor degree in Taichung. I have been following you for a while, and I wanted to say something but not sure what to say. I have spent six months in Taiwan so far and have met a lot of great friends, and do not miss my home like many other freshmen because it’s great to live in Taiwan – including the orderly environment and welcoming nature of Taiwanese. However, I always avoid discussing Mainland’s issues with Taiwanese.

Take myself for example, there are a lot of things in the Mianland that I am not happy with (otherwise, I wouldn’t have wanted to study abroad); but after discussing with my Taiwanese classmates, firstly I find that they have been misled by the media and secondly (they have) some sort of “I can condemn (the government), but others cannot” mindset.

I had always been educated in the Mainland, when I visited my relatives in the US in high school, Chinese friends (here refers ethical Chinese) asks me if I think Taiwan is part of China. I answered with no hesitation “yes”, and they were shocked. Now that I’m here (in Taiwan), my answer has changed.

One summer, I met some excellent Hong Kong friends. They attended the 4/June vigil every year and never forget (what happened). Thanks to Hong Kongese. People and the government should be united on some circumstances, but others situations they should be standing at an opposite position. In terms of power, I believe no citizen wishes his government to have absolute power, which means he will have none. Under absolute power, if Hong Kong losses this kind of freedom, so will Taiwan.

I do not like people condemning how bad Mainland China is, because I find myself standing on the same side of the government (under this circumstances). My pride for my motherland’s development must not be destroyed by others. However, I do not want the Mainland government to continue enjoying such power, and feel that on this front individuals and the government are in confronting position. Unfortunately, I am now in Taiwan – with the freedom to think about all these, but have no means to make them happen.

In response to this Facebook post, Kay Lam (a Hong Kong commentator) wrote a piece entitled “Wang Dan Reveals the Truth behind Communist China’s Brainwash Propaganda”:

Wang Dan published a letter from a Mainland China student on his Facebook, saying that he’d hope people can understand the mentality of the Chinese younger generation, and further hope that everyone to “treat Mainland students nicely” but not push them back to the embrace of Communist China’s propaganda.

First, Mainland Chinese students believe that any media in the world is the same as Communist China’s – controlled and manipulated by the government. They refuse to believe in the repulsive realities in China, instead believes Hong Kongers and Taiwanese are misled by “anti-communist media”. In fact, to maximise the effect of brainwashing propaganda, Communist China started by acquiring Chinese language media across the world, and set up these “so-called foreign media” in other countries to repackage Communist China’s viewpoints as “foreign media’s viewpoints”, then import them into China. They, then, manipulate internet search engines and social media ranking, and broadcast these messages via numerous sub-websites in a multiple speed. They created this man-made “Bad money drives out good” environment, replacing the truth with fake news. As long as people cannot touch the media hegemony of Communist China, anti-brainwash is only a “castle in the air” and is never executable.

Second,  Mainland Chinese students have the mentality of “I can condemn (the government), others cannot”, “I do not like others to condemn how bad Mainland China is, because I’m with the government on this front”, “My pride of my motherland’s development must not be damaged by others”, etc. These sample quotes demonstrate that Mainland Chinese CAN NOT and DARE NOT to criticise the PRC government. In addition, they would not allow others to criticise the PRC government. In the end become the slaves of nationalism.

Third, Hong Kong’s 4/June vigils are not aiming at overthrowing Communist China’s tyranny, but a psychological opium that spread the illusion of “patriotic without being loyal to the communist party”. The Mainland Chinese student who wrote the letter is certain about Hong Kongers’ “love for China” (a commonly used phrase Commies use to describe their patriotism), and subtly criticises the “separatism power” including Taiwan independence. This clearly shows the celestial empire and unification mentality of China have entwined with the Party’s brainwash education, and became a non-negotiable bottom-line. They are, however, very honest with their action – they want to go to Taiwan and Hong Kong to breath the freedom, despite the fact that the wish to see “China’s unification” both verbally and in their mind. They refuse to believe and learn about the “unification” under Communist China’s dictatorship actually means the complete destruction of Hong Kong and Taiwan.

The above three points illustrate how frightening and thorough brainwashing is. To help Chinese students to understand the truth and break free from brainwashing is close to impossible. This also explains why Communist China has to push forward national education in Hong Kong, this is also the bottom-line of Hong Kong which “to give in to this means death”.

 

2 thoughts on “The Truth about China’s Brain-Washing Propaganda

  1. Hey, I am studying chinese soft power in one of my university classes and would like to know your opinion on it. I had a chinese student in my class and the teacher seemed to tip toe around everything

Leave a Reply

